top of page
  • louisefullbrookpho

THE END OF MODULE ONE.

Updated: Jun 28, 2020

I decided to start the MA to not only develop my own skills but to further my career within photography with my intention to teach within higher education. The start of the course was challenging to say the least! Having had two hospital admissions followed by the COVID19 pandemic it was not what I had expected at all. My project took quite a turn following the government lockdown guidelines. There are many positives which arose from this situation,  I was pushed to explore new ideas, learn new techniques, and research more topics.

My career within photography along with my style has changed dramatically over the years. I started out as a second photographer at weddings and events, this was something I loved but something I grew away from. After the birth of our daughter Nerys 8 years ago I became increasingly interested in newborn portraiture and quickly gained many skills following workshops and other training. I slowly moved away from the heavily staged newborn shoots that everyone loved to a more timeless style. I wanted images that would capture the emotion, creating memories of a special event or moment in life.

After several years I met a client whose baby had been born sleeping. This obviously had a hugely devastating effect on both parents, the mum shared her photos on social media and the response from her friends was so kind and supportive. The mum had asked if there was anything I could do to enhance the image but due to the quality and having been taken on her mobile phone with poor light there was little I could do to help. I asked if they had even considered asking me to to come along to take photographs, the mum said she would have felt so awkward requesting someone outside of the family to attend and help with photography although she was so upset that she hadn't. 

This situation pushed me to find out more about bereavement photography and to find out more about how photography can help with the process of bereavement and mourning.

I approached a charity "Remember my baby" and volunteered as a photographer and editor to visit hospitals and photograph the families should they have to experience the heartache of losing a baby or child. I found the whole process incredibly rewarding, being able to give these families something of such importance and value which cost me nothing but time really made me rethink my practice and what I wanted to offer my clients.

On starting the MA at Falmouth I wanted to embark on a project which would further research the relationship between photography and death. I wanted to explore the history of photography and how it has always played such an important role within the bereavement process and also find out why our views on photography after death has changed so much. The introduction of the daguerreotype fascinates me, I look forward to investigating different photographic techniques used throughout the years.

I believe that making bereavement photography more available, the process could in turn become more normalized. Stillbirth is still shrouded in silence, even though it's ten times more likely than cot death. I aim to compile a body of evidence which would prove the benefits of photography after death. For now, I look forward to the second module.

Bye for now

Louise x 


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page